24 March 2018
US to ED: ignore reforms, sanctions stay
MPs summon Mugabe over missing $15bn
Freed activist: God knows I didn’t kill the cop
No reforms no poll: Chamisa tells EU crew
Mujuru vows Dzamara search if elected
Boy eyes political office, contests law
GM foods safer than conventional: Expert
'Stubborn' Khupe, Gutu fired from the MDC-T
Plenty investors in Zim, hotels flooded: ED
Chamisa hails African Free Trade Area
Deported anti-Bob SA band back at Hifa
Grace house arrest play rocks Masvingo
Gayle plans to dance with Zimbabwe fans
Cricket: UAE shatter Zim WCup dreams
Follow Honourable Eddie Cross's example
Mugabe spoke for the marginalised, but
2018: of humour, fair analysis, healthy race
ZimDiaspora: Bum cleaners, runaway fathers?
Club captains to choose soccer star  
18/06/2014 00:00:00
by Sports Reporter
Footballer of the year changes ... Kennedy Ndebele
Dynamos get Muparati boost for Highlanders
Harare City earn Chapungu draw
FC Platinum face How Mine test
DeMbare stopper vows Highlanders shutout
Chunga says Chiredzi to survive chop
Harare City take on Chapungu
DeMbare out to continue Bosso dominance
Bosso get Mahachi boost for DeMbare

THE Premier Soccer League (PSL) has effected changes to the selection of the Castle Lager Footballer of the year- modelling it along the lines of the Fifa Ballon d’Or.

Under the changes, club captains of the 16 premier league sides are now set to be part of the panel to choose the outstanding player this season.

Football writers have been dominating the selection process every year but now although they have been retained on the panel of selectors, the number has been reduced with sixteen coaches from all the clubs in the elite league also set to take part.

A total of 30 journalists from various media houses are now set to take part in the selection process this year, down from the 33 football writers who took part in last year's selection process.

PSL chief executive Kenny Ndebele wrote to Sports editors of local media houses confirming the changes.

“We write to advise that Delta Beverages and Castle Lager Premier Soccer league have re-organised the Panel of Selectors for the Castle Lager PSL Monthly and Annual Awards,” wrote Ndebele.

“The panel of selectors shall be as follows:

  • Print and Electronic Media — 30 votes
  • Castle Lager PSL Team Captains — 16 votes
  • Castle Lager PSL Team Coaches — 16 votes (Total — 52 votes)

“Please, be further advised that due to the increase in the number of media houses, we have spread votes across the print and electronic media.”

The Footballer of the Year selection process has for years courted controversy.

Only last year, the selection of Dynamos midfielder Tawanda Muparati as the outstanding player of the year met with disapproval from various football stakeholders with some arguing that Harare City's Silas Songani was the best player of the year.


Email this to a friend Printable Version Discuss This Story
Share this article:

Digg it






Face Book



comments powered by Disqus
RSS NewsTicker