14 December 2017
Mnangagwa assassin appears in court
Govt pays for Mugabe Singapore visit
Coup: ‘Soldiers’ rob Chinese man of $90k
Man, aged 83, rapes granddaughter, 14
Tsvangirai still to register for 2018
ED starts journey to key 2018 election
ANC risks split in choosing new leader
Zimdef bosses axed, forensic audit called
Makamba back after 17 years in exile
Command agric: Is it really that bad?
Mogul Russell Simmons accused of rape
Jah Prayzah dreamt about cemetery attack
FC Platinum get tough Africa draw
City, United win as Arsenal drift
Coup: why the China role theory is hollow
Zims duped! It’s about Zanu PF for ever
Nelson Chamisa on Washington trip
Interview: Gonda Hot Seat with Coltart
Bangladesh whitewash Zimbabwe 5-0 in ODIs
01/12/2014 00:00:00
by Agencies
ODIs: Bangladesh beat Zimbabwe, lead 4-0
Bangladesh beats Zimbabwe in 3rd ODI
ODI defeat: Chigumbura the turning point
ODIs: Bangaldesh beat Zim, lead 2-0
First ODI: Bangladesh beat Zimbabwe
'I play every game like it's my last': Raza
3-0 whitewash hurts, Zim's Taylor
Cricket players go on strike over pay
'We will go all out for a win': Masakadza
Zim’s Houghton new Middlesex coach
Bangladesh whip Zim for series sweep
Masakadza, Chakabva revive Zimbabwe

Bangladesh 130 for 5 (Mahmudullah 51*, Chatara 3-44) beat Zimbabwe 128 (Masakadza 52, Taijul 4-11, Shakib 3-30) by five wickets

BANGLADESH defeated Zimbabwe by 6 wickets in the final ODI of the five-match series to complete a consecutive whitewash in the tournament at Mirpur on Monday.

This was the second time Bangladesh whitewashed Zimbabwe in an ODI series and the fourth clean sweep in Tigers’ history. Bangladesh previously whitewashed Zimbabwe back in 2006.

Choosing to bat first Monday, Zimbabwe started on a high before stumbling upon spin and folding to 128 runs. Jubair and Shakib clipped two wickets each and reined the run rate.

Taijul Islam got a hat-trick on debut. He ended the day with a four-wicket haul.

This was by far the lowest total for Zimbabwe among the five ODIs despite the pitch at Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium being a batting track.

In reply to the chase of 129, Bangladesh lost four early wickets with poor contributions from Tamim Iqbal, 10,  Anamul Haque, 8, debutant Soumya Sarkar, 20, Shakib Al Hasan, 0 and Mushfiqur Rahim, 11.

Chatara claimed three wickets while Panyangara took two.

However, Mahmudullah played a solid innings of 51* off 55 balls that led to the convincing win with 24.3 overs to spare.

Taijul Islam was named man of the match while Mushfiqur Rahim was awarded man of the series.

Earlier, Bangladesh won all of the previous four ODI matches against Zimbabwe.

The Tigers also clean swept Zimbabwe in the three-match Test series.

Earlier in history, Bangladesh whitewashed Kenya, Zimbabwe and New Zealand.


Zimbabwe: Sikandar Raza, Hamilton Masakadza, Vusi Sibanda, Brendan Taylor, Elton Chigumbura(capt), Solomon Mire, Timycen Maruma, Tinashe Panyangara, Tendai Chatara, John Nyumbu, Tafadzwa Kamungozi   

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal , Anamul Haque, Soumya Sarkar, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Sabbir Rahman, Abul Hasan, Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), Taijul Islam, Jubair Hossain


Email this to a friend Printable Version Discuss This Story
Share this article:

Digg it






Face Book



comments powered by Disqus
RSS NewsTicker