15 December 2017
Singapore: Mugabe seen leaving hospital
ED to use congress to consolidate power
I have a list of looters, warns president
2018: Zanu PF says to rehabilitate G40’s
Mnangagwa: sanctions crippling Zimbabwe
Cop WhatsApps rogue soldiers memo, seized
Soldiers pour water on voter machine
SB Moyo to diplomats: let's respect each other
Gen Moyo to facilitate diaspora investments
Health levy fund now at $18m, minister
Zimbabwe totes obsessed with Zodwa
Mogul Russell Simmons accused of rape
Eto, Mboma tribute to Cameroon legend
Wenger refuses to blame Alexis Sanchez
Coup: why the China role theory is hollow
Zims duped! It’s about Zanu PF for ever
Nelson Chamisa on Washington trip
Interview: Gonda Hot Seat with Coltart
Danny Phiri tipped to win top football gong on Friday night

A Warriors to boot ... Danny Phiri (right) in action for the national side

03/12/2015 00:00:00
by Sports Reporter
Favouriote ... Chicken Inn captain Danny Phiri

CHICKEN Inn captain Danny "Deco" Phiri is the favourite to win the overall Castle Lager Footballer of the Year Award on Friday night.

The winner of the coveted award, his first and second runner up have been kept a secret after voting on Monday but will be known at a banquet tonight; so will be the coach, goalkeeper and promising young player of the year.

With the power, leadership and influence of Phiri, the Game Cocks won their maiden championship with a game to spare two weeks ago.

And Phiri, appeared to have garnered more votes than any other player during the selection of the 2015 Soccer Stars on Monday by football writers, club captains and coaches.

But there will be competition for the top gong, however, from the likes of Matawu, Dynamos defender Mushure and Highlanders forward Knox Mtizwa who won the Golden Boot Award after finishing the season with 14 goals in 17 starts.

Chicken Inn provided more players than any other club in this year’s Soccer Stars of the Year finalists, with four of their players making it among the 11 outstanding players of the season.

Phiri was joined by goalkeeper, Elvis Chipezeze, fellow midfielder, Clemence Matawu and striker, Edmore Chirambadare on the finalists.

Dynamos provided Ocean Mushure and Tatenda Mukuruva, while Highlanders’ Knox Mutizwa made the cut, to add on to the top goalscorer award, which he won after netting 14 goals.

Stephen Makatuka, who was solid at the back for Caps United all season, striker, Brian Muzondiwa of FC Platinum and Raphael Manuvire, who was the driving force behind ZPC Kariba’s late resurgence, are part of the 11 finalists.

Hillary Bakacheza was the star for Triangle, as they finished fourth on the league table and was deservedly voted as one of the finalist.


Email this to a friend Printable Version Discuss This Story
Share this article:

Digg it






Face Book



comments powered by Disqus
RSS NewsTicker