18 December 2017
SA: ANC votes for new President Monday
Grace secured $10mln for G40 power grab
Court: Mengistu aide jailed for war crimes
Graft: Perm Sec spends weekend in jail
Mugabe priest: Grace will get justice
Riot police called as Zanu PF brawls
Rural Zimbabweans unaware Mugabe gone
Man calls Mnangagwa a murderer, arrested
A faint hope for Zimbabwe
Cashless solution for cash crisis
Rape: Prosecutors won't charge Nelly
Divisive South African film eyes Oscars
Mapeza eyes Ghana and Zambia players
Zimbabwe embrace underdog status
Opposition lacks effective leadership
Change must follow Mugabe’s fall
‘Pasi!’: The slogan that must now die
Zimbabwe: Chance for a new beginning

Who will be Soccer Star of the Year?

In the running for coach of the year ... Caps United's Lloyd Chitembwe (centre)

28/11/2016 00:00:00
by Sports Reporter
Ageless ... Leonard Tsipa after he finished the season as top goal scorer

A PANEL of football experts converge in Harare on Tuesday to select the outstanding players in the just ended season with the question on the lips of soccer fans being who will be crowned the king of domestic football.

Head coaches of all the 16 Premier Soccer League clubs, team captains and selected journalists will be tasked to come up with this year's 11 finest footballers.

However, the soccer star calendar is likely to be dominated by several players from newly crowned champions Caps United after defying odds to win the championship for the first time in 11 years.

United left-back Ronald Pfumbidzai is one player who is likely to make the cut; so is right back Hardlife Zvirekwi who has been very consistent for both club and country.

It will also be difficult for the selectors to ignore the contributions of such players like veteran striker Leonard Tsipa after he finished the season as top goal scorer with 11 goals.

At 34, Tsipa has bellied his rather advanced age to decide key contests culminating in the team finally realising their championship dream having waited for over a decade. He has a strong case for the overall award.

Team captain Moses Muchenje and Joel Ngodzo will also make a strong shout for inclusion on the Soccer Stars of the Year Calendar list.

United coach Lloyd Chitembwe is also certain to be crowned Coach of the Year after having written a glorious page for Caps United becoming the first player to win the championship both as a player and coach.

Chitembwe has also finished the season without tasting defeat at the National Sports Stadium since he assumed the post in September last year.

Norman Mapeza (far left) and his FC Platinum side finished second

But he is likely to face competition from Norman Mapeza who guided FC Platinum to second place on the league table.

The Zvishavane-based side are also set to contribute with Walter Musona, Winston Mhango, Kevin Moyo and goalkeeper Petros Mhari having shone like beacons for FC Platinum who led the league table for the better part of the season only to be beaten to the finishing line on the very last day of the league programme.


Hwange's Gift Mbweti who was beaten by Tsipa to the Golden Boot Award after managing nine goals in the campaign also has a strong case.

Dynamos might have struggled in the just ended campaign in which they failed to finish in the top four managing a fifth place finish, but Godknows Murwira has been one of the stand out players.

Highlanders who finished in third place on the table under the guidance of Dutchman Erol Akbay could see Rahman Kutsanzira, Prince Dube, Simon Munawa and Peter Muduhwa also making their cases to be included on the calendar. The trio had a brilliant season for the Bulawayo giants.

Email this to a friend Printable Version Discuss This Story
Share this article:

Digg it






Face Book



comments powered by Disqus
RSS NewsTicker