14 December 2017
Mnangagwa assassin appears in court
Govt pays for Mugabe Singapore visit
Coup: ‘Soldiers’ rob Chinese man of $90k
Man, aged 83, rapes granddaughter, 14
Tsvangirai still to register for 2018
ED starts journey to key 2018 election
ANC risks split in choosing new leader
Zimdef bosses axed, forensic audit called
Makamba back after 17 years in exile
Command agric: Is it really that bad?
Mogul Russell Simmons accused of rape
Jah Prayzah dreamt about cemetery attack
FC Platinum get tough Africa draw
City, United win as Arsenal drift
Coup: why the China role theory is hollow
Zims duped! It’s about Zanu PF for ever
Nelson Chamisa on Washington trip
Interview: Gonda Hot Seat with Coltart

Bosso coach cries foul over 2016 soccer stars, says more Highlanders players should have been selected

30/11/2016 00:00:00
by Sports Reporter

HIGHLANDERS coach Elroy Akbay feels his star players Rahman Kutsanzira and Simon Munawa should have made it into the final 11 of out-standing Soccer Stars of the Year.

Highlanders finished the season in third place behind eventual champions Caps United and runners up FC Platinum in a very close race and contributed only one player to the calendar- Peter Mudhuwa. On the other hand, Caps and FC Platinum had three players each on the calendar.

This has, however, not gone well with the Dutchman who believes Munawa and Kutsanzira went beyond the call of duty and ought to have been selected.

"It was a good exercise but I thought we should have more of our players on the calendar. Rahman Kutsanzira and Simon Munawa contributed a lot to the club. They were very consistent and should have been selected,” fumed Akbay.

A panel of head coaches, club captains and football writers gathered in Harare on Tuesday and selected the outstanding 11 players in the just ended season and Caps United right back Hardlife Zvirekwi, Leonard Tsipa and Ronald Pfumbidzai made the list.

FC Platinum had Walter Musona, goal keeper Petros Mhari and Winston Mhango.

Hwange FC also made a contribution with Gift Mbweti.

Former champions, Chicken Inn, had Clement Matawu while Ngezi Platinum’s Liberty Chakoroma was rewarded for leading his side to the Chibuku Super Cup success. Harare giants Dynamos, who only managed a top five finish, had Godknows Murwira on the calendar.  

The overall Soccer Star of the Year, his two runners up, Coach, Referee, Goalkeeper and Promising Under-20 player of the year will only be revealed at an awards dinner on Friday. 

The 11 Soccer Stars: 

Liberty Chakoroma (Ngezi Platinum), C lemence Matawu (Chicken Inn),Gift  Mbweti (Hwange),  Winstone Mhango (FC Platinum), Petros  Mhari (FC Platinum), Walter Musona (FC Platinum), Peter Muduhwa (Highlanders), Godknows Murwira (Dynamos), Ronald Pfumbidzai (Caps United), Leonard Tsipa (Caps United),  Hardlife Zvirekwi (Caps United).


Email this to a friend Printable Version Discuss This Story
Share this article:

Digg it






Face Book



comments powered by Disqus
RSS NewsTicker