24 February 2018
New Zimbabwe Header
ZRP regrets killing two people in Harare
Chamisa acting pres after 6 hour indaba
Sorry Gogo! Mwonzora to Tsvangirai's mom
Visionless Mzembi a glory seeker: ex-aide
Shumba rails at ED ‘mafia’ government
Malema to SA: Learn from Zim blunders
Zanu PF MP books all rally venues till polls
Zanu PF youths shocked Mugabe was ousted
Diamond sales: Zim seeks Botswana help
GMB in record 1,5m metric tonnes of cereals
Mnangagwa: Tuku is our music icon
Zim musician among top world biz leaders
Williams, Zhuwao recalled for Cricket WC ties
Cameroonian coach for Masvingo FC
Morgan Tsvangirai a dear, just leader
New era: Changing Zimbabwe’s past
Tsvangirai aide farewell to iconic boss
In the aftermath of Tsvangirai's death

Surprise as Pasuwa overlooks Goalkeeper of the Year

18/12/2016 00:00:00
by Sports Reporter
FC Platinum shot-stopper Petros Mhari

WARRIORS coach Kalisto Pasuwa has named a strong 30-member squad for the 2017 African Cup of Nations finals in Gabon next month with reigning Goalkeeper of the Year and FC Platinum shot-stopper Petros Mhari a surprise exclusion.

Mhari was voted on to the 2016 Soccer Star of the Year calendar where he emerged second runner-up behind overall Soccer Star of the Year Hardlife Zvirekwi and first runner-up Leonard Tsipa.

But surprisingly, Pasuwa overlooked the goalkeeper as he named his provisional squad for the January tournament, preferring instead ZPC Kariba goalkeeper Takabva Mawaya and Ngezi Platinum's Nelson Chadya. First choice and second choice Tatenda Mukuruva and Bernard Donovan complete the list of goalkeepers called up.

With Mhari having kept goal for FC Platinum, leading to a second place finish on the final log standings, many thought he would make the cut and Pasuwa's decision to leave him out is likely to spark criticism from football followers.

The Warriors squad is expected to go into camp on Tuesday to start preparations for the international friendly against Ivory Coast in Abidjan on boxing day.

Warriors Afcon Provisional Squad

Goalkeepers: Tatenda Mukuruva (Dynamos), Bernard Donovan (How Mine), Nelson Chadya (Ngezi Platinum Stars) and Takabva Mawaya (Hwange)

Defenders: Lawrence Mhlanga, Teenage Hadebe (Chicken Inn), Bruce Kangwa (Azam FC, Tanzania), Costa Nhamoinesu (Sparta Prague, Czech Republic), Onismor Bhasera (SuperSport United, South Africa), Blessing Moyo (Maritzburg United, South Africa), Tendai Ndlovu (Highlanders), Hardlife Zvirekwi (Caps United), Liberty Chakoroma (Ngezi Platinum Stars), Oscar Machapa (AS Vita, DRC) and Elisha Muroiwa (Dynamos)

Midfielders: Marvelous Nakamba (Vitesse, Netherlands), Willard Katsande (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa), Khama Billiat (Sundowns, South Africa), Knowledge Musona (K.V. Oostende, Belgium), Danny Phiri, Kudakwashe Mahachi (Golden Arrows, South Africa), Raphael Kutinyu (Chicken Inn), Ronald Chitiyo (Harare City), Marshal Mudehwe (FC Platinum) and Talent Chawapiwa (ZPC Kariba)


Strikers: Nyasha Mushekwi (Dalian Yifang, China), Tendai Ndoro (Orlando Pirates, South Africa), Evans Rusike (Maritzburg, South Africa), Mathew Rusike (Helsinborg IF, Sweden), Cuthbert Malajila (Bidvest Wits, South Africa), and Tinotenda Kadewere (Djurgårdens IF, Sweden)

Email this to a friend Printable Version Discuss This Story
Share this article:

Digg it






Face Book



comments powered by Disqus
RSS NewsTicker