13 December 2017
$420k ivory destined for Malaysia seized
Council staffers in $174,000 swindle
Liberia: Presidential run-off date set
US sets terms, orders army off the streets
MDC-Alliance to US: please don’t forget Zim
Chinamasa sees good times as Zim gets $1,5b
$15b billion looters in ED’s govt: Bishop
Tsvangirai victory certain: MDC-T youths
Willowvale rejects bond notes
Challenges facing Pres Mnangagwa
Jah Prayzah dreamt about cemetery attack
Voter registration proof to watch show
Jose Mourinho: City lack education
Sundowns coach retains Khama Billiat hope
Coup: why the China role theory is hollow
Zims duped! It’s about Zanu PF for ever
Interview: Gonda Hot Seat with Coltart
The Mugabe prophecy that never was

Who will be named soccer star of the year?

28/11/2017 00:00:00
by Sports Reporter

AS a selected panel of football writers, the 18 premier soccer league coaches and respective team captains converge in Harare Tuesday to choose the outstanding footballer in the just ended season, the vexing question is who will be crowned the King of domestic football.

FC Platinum won their maiden championship on Saturday, the first time since 1966 for a team from outside Harare or Bulawayo to manage that feat, but can we honestly say there was a player from the Zvishavane side who went beyond the call of duty, and deserve to walk away with the coveted Soccer Star of the Year award?

But can we overlook the exploits of a player like Dominic Chungwa of Caps United who scored an incredible 17 goals this season on the grounds that his team finished a distant fifth position and reward for instance, Rodwell Chinyengetere or Kelvin Moyo simply because FC Platinum won the league title?

Can we overlook, too, Lloyd Mutasa for the Coach of the Year award simply because he did not win the championship after finishing second in a very close race having built a team from scratch?

He worked with meagre resources by conducting trials after the club’s principal’s sponsors BancABC, who used to bankroll the club to enable it to shop for players, whittled down their budget and focused on paying players’ salaries.

But then again can we also ignore a championship winning coach in Norman Mapeza who made history by becoming the first coach to win the title with a team from outside Harare or Bulawayo since 1966 when Father Anthony Edward Davies won it with St Paul’s FC of Musami, Murewa?

If Mapeza can lead a team from the periphery to their maiden championship does he still need to prove anything?

Last season, Caps United won their first championship since 2005 and Lloyd Chitembwe was presented with the coach of the season award while team captain Hardlife Zvirekwi was crowned the Soccer Star of the Year.

In 2015, Chicken Inn won their maiden championship and Joey Antipas was chosen the coach of the year while team captain Danny “Deco” Phiri won the overall Soccer Star of the Year award.

A number of players including Tichaona Mabvura of Ngezi Platinum shone like Ocean Mushure (Dynamos), Rodwell Chinyengetere (FC Platinum), Christian Epoupa (Dynamos) Kelvin Moyo (Fc Platinum]), Moses Jackson (Chicken Inn), Innocent Mucheneka [Chicken Inn), Terrence Dzukamanja (Ngezi Platinum), Winston Mhango (FC Platinum), and Lot Chiwunga (Black Rhinos) among others will all be fighting for recognition.


Email this to a friend Printable Version Discuss This Story
Share this article:

Digg it






Face Book



comments powered by Disqus
RSS NewsTicker